ICS Inter-Community School Library: Sciences: Climate Change@ Part 2

List of Evidence for Climate Change

Greenland glaciers 2. Ocean surface temperatures 3. Bird migration patterns 4. Coral bleaching 5. Sea levels 6. Arctic Sea Ice 7. Antarctic Glaciers 8. Snow cover 9. Wildfires OR 10. Heavy precipitation events.

Write the evidence you will be researching here:_______________.

Research the phenomena and explain what has changed and how. Include pictures, diagrams or maps if possible. REMEMBER - this must be written in your own words.
What are the impacts of the changes on the environment?
What possible problems could this cause for humans?
Document your sources and include in-text citations and a Works Cited list.
Find some data to show how much the phenomena has changed in the last 30 years.
Graph the data.
Extension activity: How would a climate change denier explain this phenomena?

Library Databases

Britannica School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General information. Good for finding out about a topic when you begin research. Includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
User ID: icszlibrary
Password: icszlibrary

Climate Change
Earth’s climate has undergone great changes throughout the planet’s roughly 4.5-billion-year history.
Global Warming
Scientists made an alarming discovery in the 1980s: the average surface temperature on Earth is slowly increasing.
Global Warming
The rise of air temperatures near Earth’s surface over the past one to two centuries is known as global warming.

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General Information. Use this source to find out about your topic when you begin research. You can choose Kids, Student or Advanced levels for all topics.
User Name: wbicsz
Password: wbicsz

Google Sign-on does not work for WorldBook

Carbon Footprint
Carbon footprint is a measure of the amount of greenhouse gases released by human activities.
Greenhouse Effect
Greenhouse effect is a warming of the lower atmosphere and surface of a planet by a complex process involving sunlight, gases, and atmospheric particles.
Water Cycle
Water cycle is a model that describes how water moves around Earth’s surface.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Global No.1 Business Data Platform. Automatic access from ICS Campus. From remote access click on 'more' below...
Getting access
Option 1: Automatic access from ICS Campus.

Option 2: From remote (home) access, create your own account by doing the following-
Sign up for free on https://www.statista.com/register/
Please select Basic Account and use your student email address when registering. Then your account will automatically be associated with the ICS Zurich and you can access the full scope of the Statista platform.

WebPath Express This link opens in a new window
Access 85,000+ trustworthy and relevant PreK-12 websites. Provides website content and age-appropriate results separated by grade level.
No login is needed when accessed through the library website. Or Copy the following link on a new web browser [https://icsz.follettdestiny.com] and then Select ICS Library>Click Catalog>Click WebPath Express.

BrainPOP This link opens in a new window
BrainPOP is an educational website with over 1,000 short animated movies, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, mathematics, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.
Username: icsbrain
Password: icsbrain

Climate Change
The heat is on … and temperatures are rising to unprecedented levels all across the planet.
Droughts
It’s hard to imagine going a day without water. But millions of people around the world are struggling with this very problem.

EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Explora provides general information, including research articles, magazines, newspapers, videos, and articles in many languages. It searches these databases: Science Reference Center, Newspaper Source, Literary Reference Center, and Health Source.
Sign in with Google SSO (Single Sign-On) using ICS email for remote access

The Day This link opens in a new window
Daily news articles written with classroom activities
Includes quizzes and interactive activities.
The Week’s Agenda, a calendar of weekly themes
Fully searchable and tagged archive of over 3,500 articles.
TOK-related articles and questions.
Username: icszurich
Password: theday

Suggested Resources

Global Climate Change Indicators
This page presents the latest information from several independent measures of observed climate change that illustrate an overwhelmingly compelling story of a planet that is undergoing global warming...
Why a Growing Greenland Glacier Doesn't Mean Good News for Global Warming
This article is written by Alan Buis, NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory...
Antarctic Glaciers and Climate Change
This website has a good range of Climate Change resources including Antarctic Glaciers...
Climate change: Greenland ice melt 'is accelerating'
This BBC article claims that Greenland is losing ice seven times faster than it was in the 1990s with a visual graph from 1995 to 2030...
Scientists find another threat to Greenland's glaciers lurking beneath the ice
This CNN article reported a Nature Geoscience journal findings with video...
As the Arctic warms, light pollution may pose a new threat to marine life
This article reported about a research vessel pilots a team of Arctic research scientists through ice north of Svalbard, Norway. Working in the middle of polar night, little light is visible. The team wears survival suits in case the boat capsizes, and they carry rifles in the event they stumble upon a polar bear...
Snow's effect on climate and climate change
This website has almost everything anything related to Snow!! Snow cover helps regulate the exchange of heat between Earth's surface and the atmosphere, or the Earth's energy balance.
Bird migratory patterns changing with the climate
“Bird migration evolved largely as a response to changing climate,” says senior author Andrew Farnsworth from Cornell University. Read more from this article...
Millions of Birds Are Migrating Earlier Because of Warming
This article discusses the studies that have suggested that some types of birds may be altering their migration patterns in response to climate change...
Impacts of Climate Change on Coral Reefs and the Marine Environment
Historically, the sea has served as a major transportation network, a source of food and a favourite recreational area. Read more...
How does climate change affect coral reefs?
Climate change will affect coral reef ecosystems, through sea level rise, changes to the frequency and intensity of tropical storms, and altered ocean circulation patterns. Here's how....
The Impact of Climate Change on Snow Cover, Sea Level & Snow Ice
This website provides information on the following impacts of climate change: airborne dust, polar bears; sea ice, sea levels, tropical cyclones and water stress. Click on the icons below to view the pages.
Climate Change Indicators: Sea Level
United States Environmental Protection Agency describes how sea level has changed over time...
Climate Change Indicators: Sea Surface Temperature
United States Environmental Protection Agency's information about the global trends in sea surface temperature...
Global sea surface temperatures are rising
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Centers for Environmental Information claims that During the past three decades, sea surface temperatures have exceeded the last century’s average every year and have been higher than at any other time since records began...Tons of related resources from NASA are linked in this page...
Wildfires and Climate Change
Research shows that changes in climate that create warmer, drier conditions, increased drought, and a longer fire season are boosting these increases in wildfire risk. Read details from this article...
Huge East Antarctic Glacier Especially Susceptible to Climate Impacts
"The ice in West Antarctica has been melting faster in recent years, but the sheer size of Denman Glacier means that its potential impact on long-term sea level rise is just as significant," Rignot added. If all of Denman melted, it would result in about 4.9 feet (1.5 meters) of sea level rise worldwide. Read details here...
Analysis confirms that climate change is making wildfires worse
n light of the ongoing wildfire crisis in Australia, Richard Betts at the UK Met Office in Exeter and his colleagues reviewed 57 peer-reviewed studies about the link between climate change and wildfire risk. All the studies found that climate change increases the frequency or severity of fire-favourable weather conditions. Read more from this article...
About Heavy Precipitation
Heavy precipitation is becoming more intense and more frequent across the world particularly in the United States...
Heavy precipitation in Switzerland
Since 1901, the amount of precipitation falling in individual heavy precipitation events in Switzerland has risen by 12 percent. Because warmer air can hold about 6 to 7 percent more water per degree Celsius...
Climate Change Indicators: Heavy Precipitation
This indicator tracks the frequency of heavy precipitation events in the United States...

Sciences

Ask for more resource!

List of Evidence for Climate Change

Library Databases

Suggested Resources

Related Videos