ICS Inter-Community School Library: Sciences: Climate Change @Part 1 (Gr.8)

Possible Keywords

Possible keywords: climate change, global warming, water cycle, carbon cycle, carbon footprint, greenhouse effect, greenhouse effect, carbon capture, fossil fuels, reforestation and renewable resources - solar, wind, hydroelectric, geothermal etc.

Project Title: Evaluating Solutions to Reduce the Impacts of Climate Change (Click here for full details)

The student will choose one of the following solutions:

Carbon capture
Eliminating/reducing the consumption of beef and dairy.
Producing electricity from renewable resources such as solar, wind, hydroelectric and geothermal.
Banning the use of cars that require fossil fuels.
Reforestation
Afforestation
Changing shopping habits
Spraying silver nitrate (AgNO3) into the atmosphere

Books in the Library About Climate Change

The Secondary library has some books about climate change. Come and have a look!

Library Databases

Britannica School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General information. Good for finding out about a topic when you begin research. Includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
User ID: icszlibrary
Password: icszlibrary

Climate Change
Earth’s climate has undergone great changes throughout the planet’s roughly 4.5-billion-year history.
Global Warming
Scientists made an alarming discovery in the 1980s: the average surface temperature on Earth is slowly increasing.
Global Warming
The rise of air temperatures near Earth’s surface over the past one to two centuries is known as global warming.

WebPath Express This link opens in a new window
Access 85,000+ trustworthy and relevant PreK-12 websites. Provides website content and age-appropriate results separated by grade level.
No login is needed when accessed through the library website. Or Copy the following link on a new web browser [https://icsz.follettdestiny.com] and then Select ICS Library>Click Catalog>Click WebPath Express.

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General Information. Use this source to find out about your topic when you begin research. You can choose Kids, Student or Advanced levels for all topics.
User Name: wbicsz
Password: wbicsz

Google Sign-on does not work for WorldBook

Carbon Footprint
Carbon footprint is a measure of the amount of greenhouse gases released by human activities.
Greenhouse Effect
Greenhouse effect is a warming of the lower atmosphere and surface of a planet by a complex process involving sunlight, gases, and atmospheric particles.
Water Cycle
Water cycle is a model that describes how water moves around Earth’s surface.

The Day This link opens in a new window
Daily news articles written with classroom activities
Includes quizzes and interactive activities.
The Week’s Agenda, a calendar of weekly themes
Fully searchable and tagged archive of over 3,500 articles.
TOK-related articles and questions.
Username: icszurich
Password: theday

Statista This link opens in a new window
Global No.1 Business Data Platform. Automatic access from ICS Campus. From remote access click on 'more' below...
Getting access
Option 1: Automatic access from ICS Campus.

Option 2: From remote (home) access, create your own account by doing the following-
Sign up for free on https://www.statista.com/register/
Please select Basic Account and use your student email address when registering. Then your account will automatically be associated with the ICS Zurich and you can access the full scope of the Statista platform.

EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Explora provides general information, including research articles, magazines, newspapers, videos, and articles in many languages. It searches these databases: Science Reference Center, Newspaper Source, Literary Reference Center, and Health Source.
Sign in with Google SSO (Single Sign-On) using ICS email for remote access

BrainPOP This link opens in a new window
BrainPOP is an educational website with over 1,000 short animated movies, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, mathematics, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.
Username: icsbrain
Password: icsbrain

Climate Change
The heat is on … and temperatures are rising to unprecedented levels all across the planet.
Droughts
It’s hard to imagine going a day without water. But millions of people around the world are struggling with this very problem.

Website about Climate Change Solutions

Top 10 Solutions to Reverse Climate Change [RL 3]
This article discusses about Tropical Forest Restoration, Wind Turbines (Onshore) and Adoption of a Plant-Rich Diet etc....
EU Climate Tips on shopping habits, recycle and others [RL 1]
By taking small steps at home, at office, in school you can save energy and money and help to protect the climate by reducing your emissions. Here's how...
Fighting Climate Change With Shopping Habits [RL 1]
Although Western cities have been working hard to reduce their carbon output, their international shopping habit contribute massively to climate change. Changing our consumption and retail ways is key to curbing global warming...
New Zealand consumers changing to greener shopping habits [RL 1-2]
Consumer New Zealand's latest survey revealed shoppers were making an effort to reduce their environmental impact. Read this article to know how...
A Cheap and Easy Plan to Stop Global Warming [RL 3]
MIT technology review on Geoengineering and Global Warming...
Controversial spraying method aims to curb global warming [RL 1]
A fleet of 100 planes making 4,000 worldwide missions per year could help save the world from climate change. Also, it may be relatively cheap. That's the conclusion of a new peer-reviewed study in Environmental Research Letters. Read details here...
How Can Geothermal Energy Combat Climate Change? [RL 2]
According to the Geothermal Energy Association, 39 countries could supply 100 percent of their electricity needs from geothermal energy, yet only 6 to 7 percent of the world’s potential geothermal power has been tapped...
10 Solutions for Climate Change [RL 2-3]
Scientific American Ten possibilities for staving off catastrophic climate change such as Eat Vegetable, Use less fuel and others...
Global warming solutions [RL 2]
Humans have the solutions to address climate change. This National Geographic article explains ...
How to stop climate change? [RL 2-3]
Scroll down and see Global warming causes, Global warming effects and Global warming prevention...
Tips for saving energy in the household, travel and consumer behaviour [RL 2]
This article pointed out what meaningful measures and solutions are available for counteracting climate change...
How You Can Stop Global Warming? [RL 2]
Healing the planet starts in your garage, in your kitchen, and at your dining-room table...This article provides information about what measures one can take to reduce global warming...
Successful carbon removal depends on these 3 conditions [RL 2]
New method of carbon capture turns carbon dioxide into solid rock and reducing carbon removal costs and meeting carbon storage capacities...
Why Carbon Capture Hasn’t Saved Us From Climate Change Yet [RL 2]
This article explains why carbon capture hasn’t saved us from climate change yet...

Resources About Impacts on the Environment

The environmental impacts of cars [RL 2]
Automobiles have a big footprint, from tailpipe emissions to road infrastructure. Learn more...
Car Emissions and Global Warming [RL 1-2]
Collectively, cars and trucks account for nearly one-fifth of all US emissions, emitting around 24 pounds of carbon dioxide and other global-warming gases for every gallon of gas...
Human Activities that Affect the Ecosystem [RL 2]
Humans interact with the world around us every day, but some of our actions are more harmful than others.
Environmental impact Soils, Biodiversity, Inland water, and Marine environment [RL 2]
EU Climate Action committee explains the impacts of climate change on Soils, Biodiversity, Inland water, and Marine environment...
The Effects of Climate Change by NASA [RL 2]
Current and future effects of climate change explained by NASA...
Climate change impacts by the US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration [RL 2]
This article explains the impacts of climate change on water, energy, transportation, wildlife, agriculture, ecosystems, and human health...
Causes and effects of climate change [RL 2]
National Geographic article on the causes and effects of climate change...