ICS Inter-Community School Library: Performing Arts: Theatre Traditions

Library Databases about Theatre Traditions

EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
EBSCO Explora provides general information, including research articles, magazines, newspapers, videos, and articles in many languages. It searches these databases: Science Reference Center, Newspaper Source, Literary Reference Center, and Health Source.
Sign in with Google SSO (Single Sign-On) using ICS email for remote access

The shadow puppetry of Karagoz
The poem of the curtain, from the Karagoz play, "The Muddleheaded Night Watchman." Travel back a century, and this would have been the prelude to one of the most popular forms of entertainment in the Ottoman Empire: The shadow-puppet play Karagoz.
Powerful puppets
Puppets can cast this extraordinary range of illusions, and are capable of creating far bigger and stranger stage effects than human actors.
Commedia dell'arte
Popular form of comedy employing improvised dialogue and masked characters that flourished in Italy from the 16th to the 18th century.
Punch and Judy
Famous English puppet play.

WebPath Express This link opens in a new window
Access 85,000+ trustworthy and relevant PreK-12 websites. Provides website content and age-appropriate results separated by grade level.
No login is needed when accessed through the library website. Or Copy the following link on a new web browser [https://icsz.follettdestiny.com] and then Select ICS Library>Click Catalog>Click WebPath Express.

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
You can choose Kids, Students or Advanced levels for all topics.
User Name: wbicsz
Password: wbicsz

Google Sign-on does not work for WorldBook

Comedy of manners
Comedy of manners is a type of sophisticated comic drama concerned with the manners and behavior of a certain social group.
Mystery play
Mystery play, a form of Biblical drama, was popular in England from the 1370's until about 1600.
Kabuki
Kabuki is one of the most popular forms of drama in Japan.
Dance
Dance is the movement of the human body in a rhythmic way. Dance serves many functions in human society.

Britannica School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General information. Good for finding out about a topic when you begin research. Includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
User ID: icszlibrary
Password: icszlibrary

Balinese Dance-Drama
Balinese villagers playing in the barong exorcism dance-drama are not merely actors exercising theatrical skills.
Karagöz
Karagöz, (Turkish: “Black Eyes,” or “Gypsy”), type of Turkish shadow play, named for its stock hero, Karagöz.
Kathakali
Kathakali, one of the main forms of classical dance-drama of India, other major ones being bharata natyam, kathak, manipuri, kuchipudi, and odissi.
Punch and Judy
Types of Puppets including Punch and Judy
Restoration Theatre
One of the first gestures of Charles II upon his Restoration in 1660 was to reverse Puritan sobriety by encouraging the kind of entertainment and theatrical activities that he had seen during his years of exile at the French court.

Kabuki

Kabuki
Provides overview of Kabuki theatre, along with detailed information and images of Kubuki plays, traditional characters, and playwrights. Provided by the Virtual Museum of Japanese Arts.
Theatre of Japan
Articles on the history of Kabuki theatre, and information on the masks, music, costumes, and stage of Noh theatre.

The Kabuki Guide by Masakatsu Gunji; Christopher Holmes (Translator); Chiaki Yoshida (Photographer)
Call Number: YA 792.0952 GUN
ISBN: 0870118471
Publication Date: 1988-03-01
Text by Masakatsu Gunji ; photography by Chiaki Yoshida ; translation by Christopher Holmes.
Kabuki - Backstage, Onstage by Matazo Nakamura; Mark Oshima (Translator)
Call Number: YA 792.0952 NAK
ISBN: 0870119850
Publication Date: 1990-08-01
Matazo Nakamura describes what it is like to be a Kabuki actor in Japan and explains how he entered a world usually reserved for a few chosen actors.
The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn by Dorothy Hoobler; Thomas Hoobler
Call Number: YA. F HOO
ISBN: 9780399233302
Publication Date: 1999-06-21
While attempting to solve the mystery of a stolen jewel, Seikei, a merchant's son who longs to be a samurai, joins a group of kabuki actors in eighteenth-century Japan.
Kabuki by Masakatsu Gunji; Donald Keene (Introduction by); Chiaki Yoshida (Photographer)
Call Number: YA 792.0952 GUN
ISBN: 0870117327
Publication Date: 1986-01-01
Masakatsu Gunji ; photographs by Chiaki Yoshida ; introduction by Donald Keene.

Kathakali

WORLD THEATRE TRADITIONS – KATHAKALI
WORLD THEATRE TRADITIONS by ESSENTIAL DRAMA
Kerala Kathakali Centre
Details about Kathakali and various forms of it.
Kathakali
Kathakali, Kerala’s (India) Grandiose Dance-Drama

Noh Theater

Introduction to Noh Theatre
Noh is a traditional form of Japanese entertainment. It is the oldest dramatic performance in existence that continues to be performed in it's original form.
Kyōgen farce and Noh theatre
Overview article on Noh and Kyōgen, along with images and descriptions from four traditional plays. Provided by the Virtual Museum of Japanese Arts.
Kids Web Japan (History of Noh)
History of Noh
The-noh.com
The site “the-noh.com” is your gateway to this unique and profound art with over six hundred years of history.

Noh Masks by Nakanishi, Toru,
Call Number: YA 792.0952 NAK
ISBN: 4586540400
Publication Date: 1998-01-16
Noh Drama by None Specified
Call Number: YA 792 NIP Drama
ISBN: 0804804281
Publication Date: 1960-01-01

Pantomime

Pantomime
Articles on Early Pantomime, Victorian Pantomime, The Origin of Popular Pantomime Stories and Pantomime Acts.

Staging a Pantomime by Gill Davies
Call Number: YA 792.3 DAV
ISBN: 0713641207
Publication Date: 1996-03-01

Punch and Judy

Punch and Judy
Famous English puppet play.
Punch and Judy
Types of Puppets including Punch and Judy

Theater of the Oppressed

Theatre of the Oppressed-What it is?
Very useful basic introduction of the Theatre of the Oppressed.
Forum Theatre used in different contexts (Catharsis in Kabul?)
Website/PBS--with video. Founded by Brazilian Augusto Boal in the early 1970s as a way to address local conflict, this form of theater is now performed in 70 countries.
How to pronounce Augusto Boal
Augusto Boal pronunciation in Spanish and Portuguese.
Drama-Based Instruction!
Game written by Augusto Boal from his book, Games for Actors and Non-Actors- with Video.
Google Images of Augusto Boal
Augusto Boal Interview
Here’s an interesting interview with Brazilian theatre director Augusto Boal, one of the world’s most influential and prominent theatre practitioners of the past three decades
Podcast.....podcast #6
You need itunes!

Theatre of the Oppressed by Augusto Boal; Charles A. McBride (Translator)
Call Number: YA 792.01 BOA
ISBN: 0930452496
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Explains why the theatre and politics cannot be separated and discusses how theatre's influence on society has changed throughout history.
Theater of the Oppressed by Augusto Boal
Call Number: YA 792 BOA Drama
ISBN: 0916354601
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Translated from the Spanish by Charles A. & Maria-Odilia Leal McBride.

Books in the Library about Theatre Traditions

The Americas (The world encyclopedia of contemporary theatre) by Carlos Solórzano (Editor); Don Rubin (Editor)
Call Number: YA 792.097 RUB
ISBN: 0415227453
Publication Date: 2000-11-02
Presents a comparative, cross-cultural examination of the theatrical histories of twenty-six countries in the Americas since 1945.
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre by Martin Banham (Editor)
Call Number: YA Ref 792 Ban
ISBN: 0521434378
Publication Date: 1995-09-21
History of the Theatre by Oscar Gross Brockett
Call Number: YA 792.09 BRO
ISBN: 0205281710
Publication Date: 1998-07-14
The Theatre by Phyllis Hartnoll; Enoch Brater
Call Number: YA 792.09 HAR
ISBN: 0500203121
Publication Date: 1998-09-17
A History of the Theatre by Glynne W. Wickham
ISBN: 0714827363
Publication Date: 1994-01-01

Websites About Theatre Traditions

Theatre History on the Web
Provides links to resources on all aspects of theatre history and current practice, both Western and non-Western, organized by time period and topic. Maintained by Jack Wolcott, (retired), University of Washington School of Drama.
TheatreHistory.com
This website covers many different types of theatre history, including ancient theatre, medieval theatre, and Asian theatre.
Theatre of Ancient Greece
Articles on the origins of comedy and drama in ancient Greece, including the dramatists, actors, costumes, and theatres.
Theatre of Ancient Rome
Articles on the development and decline of Roman theatre, including information on the dramatists, actors, critics, and a description of what it would have been like to attend a play in ancient Rome.
Theatre of China
Articles: 'Decoration, Costume, and Symbolic Design in Chinese Theatre', 'The Drama of China', 'Gao Xingjian', 'Origin of the Chinese Drama', and 'Religious Influence on the Chinese Drama'.
Theatre of England
Articles on all aspects of the history of comedy and drama in England, including information on Elizabethan theatre, Restoration theatre, and English pantomime ( a history of the development of the art of mime in eighteenth century England.)
Props
Globe Theatre Props. Interesting information about the Globe Theatre Props during the life and times of William Shakespeare ...
Theatre of India
Several articles on the mythical and historical origins of Hindu drama.
Theatre of Italy
Articles on Commedia dell'Arte, the Italian form of improvised theatre.
Bunraku Puppet Theater
Links to information on Bunraku puppetry, and photographs of the Bunraku stage and traditional characters. Presented by the Virtual Museum of Japanese Arts.
The Puppetry Home Page
Links to information on all aspects of puppetry, including definitions of the different types and styles of puppetry, puppetry traditions around the world, and instructions for building your own puppets.
Meet the Artists
Biographies on some World Theatre Theorists.

E-Resources about Theatre Traditions

Dance - Bali
Kecak - Indonesia
Discussion of the various dance forms of Bali, including Jeroan dances, one of which is the kecak - a modern offshoot of sanghyang developed in the 1930s, which uses the chanting of traditional sanghyang as an accompaniment to theatrical dance using stories from the Ramayana epic. Includes list of sources for further reading.

MLA Citation:
Byard-Jones, Tim. "Dance—Bali." Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, edited by Karen Christensen and David Levinson, vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002, pp. 234-235. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3403700798&asid=078f790b7aba64bc37187402c872d42c. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.
Greek Drama
Includes information on: the origin of the movement, representative authors, representative works, themes, style, variations in the movement, historical context, critical overview, criticism, sources, and suggestions for further reading.

MLA Citation:
"Greek Drama." Literary Movements for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Literary Movements, edited by Ira Mark Milne, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Gale, 2009, pp. 310-334. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3279300021&asid=e007991a1979d950c83c481fb653770d. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.
Greek Comedy
Contents: Beginnings -- Athenian Old Comedy -- Aristophanes' background -- The first plays -- Formula for Old Comedies -- The Archarnians -- The Knights -- The Clouds -- The Wasps -- The Peace -- The Birds -- The Lysistrata -- Thesmophoriazusae -- The Frogs -- The Ecclesiazusae -- The Plutus -- Middle Comedy -- The Unearthing of Menander -- The Dyskolos -- Influence of New Comedy -- Sources.

MLA Citation:
"Greek Comedy." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 2: Ancient Greece and Rome 1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E. Gale, 2005, pp. 138-144. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3427400250&asid=44ad0c34f6f70317db23efdee9f19dec. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.
The Beginning of Roman Theater
Discusses Greek, Etruscan, and Italian influences on the beginning of Roman theater.

MLA Citation:
"The Beginning of Roman Theater." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 2: Ancient Greece and Rome 1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E. Gale, 2005, pp. 366-367. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3427400342&asid=2320227b97990ccd90d6998471b6f864. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.
Roman Theaters, Playwrights, and Actors
Discusses the structure of the Roman theater, acting troupes, famous Roman actors, and two Roman playwrights - Plautus and Terence.

MLA Citation:
"Roman Theaters, Playwrights, and Actors." Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, edited by Edward I. Bleiberg, et al., vol. 2: Ancient Greece and Rome 1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E. Gale, 2005, pp. 367-372. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3427400343&asid=9cfb7e8323d6f2954f167145f5db65b9. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.
Wayang Topeng
Topeng Dance - Bali
Gives history and description of this classical Javanese dance-drama genre, along with a list of sources for further reading.

MLA Citation:
Ramstedt, Martin. "Wayang Topeng." Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, edited by Karen Christensen and David Levinson, vol. 6, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002, pp. 111-112. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3403703190&asid=2db6219853990b151a4a918bf3af923e. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.
Peking Opera and Regional Operas
Cantonese, Yueju and Peking opera - China
Discusses Peking Opera and several regional operas, including Cantonese Opera, and includes a bibliography with suggestions for further reading.

MLA Citation:
"Peking Opera and Regional Operas." Encyclopedia of Modern China, edited by David Pong, vol. 3, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2009, pp. 86-89. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX1837900447&asid=eb3e0ac6dbcd8738f56256f0ac36b990. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.
Theater Arts in Imperial China
Yuan Drama or Zaju - China
Discusses the rise of drama in Imperial China, including that of the zaju (variety play) of the Song era (960-1279) and the variety plays of the Yuan dynasty (1279-1368).

MLA Citation:
"Theater Arts: Drama." World Eras, edited by Guangqiu Xu, vol. 7: Imperial China, 617-1644, Gale, 2003, pp. 149-152. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX3035200042&asid=fb43df3aa87fe96c7603bdb200ccd952. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.
Elizabethan Drama
English Renaissance theatre - England
An introduction to Elizabethan drama, providing a glossary of important terms, and discussion of early acting companies, regulation of the plays, London and the first theaters, playwrights, and genres (comedies, history plays, tragedies, and romances). Includes a list of related books and websites for further reading.

MLA Citation:
"Elizabethan Drama." Elizabethan World Reference Library, edited by Sonia G. Benson and Jennifer York Stock, vol. 1: Almanac, UXL, 2007, pp. 163-179. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=poul45153&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX2587000020&asid=b5b01d61767b11d16bcd9edcf896597a. Accessed 14 Nov. 2017.