ICS Inter-Community School Library: English: World Literature@Gr.8

Selected Books for World Literature Project

Title	Author(s)	Year of Publication
The Diary of Anne Frank	Anne Frank (Germany/Netherlands)	1952
Lord of the Flies	William Golding (United Kingdom)	1954
Night	Elie Wiesel (Romanian-born American)	1960
Nervous conditions	Tsitsi Dangarembga (Zimbabwe)	1988
The Power of One	Bryce Courtenay (South African born Australian)	1989
Private Peaceful	Michael Morpurgo (United Kingdom)	2003
The Book Thief	Markus Zusak (Australian)	2005
Refugee	Alan Gratz (USA)	2017

Britannica School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Resource pack for World Literature (copy and paste this resource link [http://eb.com/151695] on your web browser)
User ID: icszlibrary
Password: icszlibrary
EBSCO Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center™ (LRC) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
Sign in with Google (SSO) using ICS email

The Diary of a Young Girl/The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank (1952.English)

About the book

Diary of Anne Frank by Frances Goodrich; Albert Hackett
ISBN: 0394405641
Publication Date: 1956-08-12
Written with rare insight, humor and intimacy, this book is one of the classics of our time. To hundreds of thousands of people, it represents the true horror and tragedy of the Nazi occupation.

From Wikipedia
The Diary of a Young Girl, also known as The Diary of Anne Frank. Original title is Het Achterhuis.

About the Author

Anne Frank@her life, the diary, and the Secret Annex
The Anne Frank Stichting, who runs the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam, has an excellent website. A virtual tour of The Secret Annex from the Anne Frank Stichting is available.

The context of the Book (World War ll [WWII], Holocaust, Concentration camps, Genocide)

World War ll from Britannica School
Read the Introduction and the outbreak of the war...
WWll: Summary Outline of Key Events from BBC
Useful for key timeline and events of WWll...
WWll from Holocaust Encyclopedia
Focused on WORLD WAR II IN EUROPE
The Holocaust from Wikipedia
The Holocaust, also referred to as the Shoah, was a genocide during World War II in which Nazi Germany, aided by its collaborators ...
Introduction to the Holocaust from the Holocaust Encyclopedia
Read the Introduction and What Was the Holocaust sections?
Bergen-Belsen concentration camp from Wikipedia
Originally established as a prisoner of war camp in 1943, parts of it became a concentration camp...
Bergen-Belsen Concentration Camp, Germany
Britannica article on Bergen-Belsen Concentration Camp, Germany ...

Lord of the Flies by William Golding (1954)

About the book

From Wikipedia
Background information and the plot of the Lord of the Flies ...
From Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Scroll down and read "Lord of the Flies" paragraph...
From Guardian
What Lord of the Flies is really about by William Golding’s daughter Judy Golding Carver ...

About the Author

William Golding from Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Brief information about William Golding's Early life, Career as a writer and list of his publications...
From Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Detailed information about Golding, Sir William Golding Education and early writing, Early career and war service, and his other publications...
From William Golding persona website
With introductory video...

The context of the Book (British Culture/ Heritage/ Personality)

The Five Levels of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs
How Maslow's Famous Hierarchy Explains Human Motivation
Our Hierarchy of Needs
This article explains Maslow’s theory and claims
true freedom is a luxury of the mind. Find out why...!
What are the most interesting ideas of Sigmund Freud?
Simply Psychology’s article on Freud explains the ideas behind Id, Ego and Super Ego that many analysts apply to Lord of the Flies...
The Structural Model of Personality
What Are the Id, Ego, and Superego?

Night by Eli Wiesel (1960)

About the book

From Wikipedia
Background information and further links from Wikipedia.
Analysis article from the Guardian
Night: Elie Wiesel's memoir and how it preserved the Jewish identity...

About the Author

Eliezer Wiesel from Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Detailed information about Eliezer Wiesel's Early life, Career as a writer, Political activism, Teaching and Personal life ...
Elie Wiesel from Holocaust Encyclopedia
Timeline about Elie Wiesel and World Events Holocaust Encyclopedia ...

The context of the Book (World War ll [WWII], Holocaust, Concentration camps, Genocide)

World War ll from Britannica School
Read the Introduction and the outbreak of the war...
WWll: Summary Outline of Key Events from BBC
Useful for key timeline and events of WWll...
WWll from Holocaust Encyclopedia
Focused on WORLD WAR II IN EUROPE
The Holocaust from Wikipedia
The Holocaust, also referred to as the Shoah, was a genocide during World War II in which Nazi Germany, aided by its collaborators ...
Introduction to the Holocaust from the Holocaust Encyclopedia
Read the Introduction and What Was the Holocaust sections?
Auschwitz concentration camp
Auschwitz concentration camp was a complex of 48 concentration and extermination camps built and operated by Nazi Germany in occupied Poland during World War II...
Buchenwald concentration camp
Watchtower at the memorial site Buchenwald, in 1983
Buchenwald concentration camp (beech forest in English) was a German Nazi concentration camp established on Ettersberg hill near Weimar, Germany,

Nervous conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga (1988)

About the book

From Wikipedia
Background information, a summary and further links from Wikipedia.
The Guardian's Review
A review from The Guardian, 2016...
BBC top 100 stories
BBC Culture asked writers around the globe to pick stories that have endured across generations and continents – and changed society- and Nervous Conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga is one of them!

About the Author

Tsitsi Dangarembga-Wikipedia
Wikipedia analysis of Tsitsi Dangarembga's life, career and publications.
Authors' Calendar article on Tsitsi Dangarembga
A brief life skeleton of Tsitsi Dangarembga written by Petri Liukkonen.

The Geographical Location and Context of the Book ( Zimbabwe, Gender and Colonialism)

BBC interview with Tsitsi Dangarembga about the role of women in Africa
What is the role of women in Africa today? What challenges do they face? Are enough women in positions of power throughout Africa?
Country profile Rhodesia/Zimbabwe from Wikipedia
Zimbabwe today and before by the lance of Wikipedia.
Zimbabwe-Country Profile from UN
Geography and Demography, Economy (Country Profile Source: 2014 Country Analysis Report)
Women’s Empowerment, Gender Equality and Equity
A brief article from UNDP on the Women’s Empowerment, Gender Equality and Equity in Zimbabwe.
UNDP summery on Gender equality in Africa
This article covers the current status and challenges of gender equality in Africa by the UNDP Africa strategic Advisor Angela Lusigi.

The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay (1989)

About the book

From Wikipedia
Background information, a summary and further links from Wikipedia.
The Power of One Reader’s Guide
A Reader’s Guide by Paul Witcover with background information on the Boer War, WWII in South Africa and Apartheid.

About the Author

Bryce Courtenay - Wikipedia
Information about Bryce Courtenay's background and early life with honors and awards from Wikipedia.
Bryce Courtenay from Encyclopedia Britannica
A short profile of Bryce Courtenay from Encyclopedia Britannica
Bryce Courtenay from Goodreads
A mini biography of Bryce Courtenay and list of his books on Goodreads.

The Geographical Location and Context of the Book (South Africa during the 1930s and 1940s)

HISTORY OF BRITISH COLONIAL RULE IN AFRICA
British Colonies in Africa with details from Encyclopedia of Race and Racism...
British Colonialism
From U.S. Library of Congress...
Colonialism and the 'scramble for Africa'
CNN report on Colonialism in Africa on its 50 years of independence from their former colonial rulers...

Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo (2003)

About the book

From Wikipedia
The Plot of Private Peaceful with the brief of play, concert and film from Wikipedia...
From Michael Morpurgo's personal website
A short glimpse of Private Peaceful from Michael Morpurgo's personal website with sample audio...
From the Guardian
Diane Samuels to explore distant memories of the first world war on Michael Morpurgo's Private Peaceful...

About the Author

Michael Morpurgo's biography from his personal website
Michael Morpurgo's biography and a letter from himself...
Michael Morpurgo from Wikipedia
Michael Morpurgo's Early life, Career, Selected works and Awards from Wikipedia...

The Geographical Location and Context of the Book (World War I, Trench Warfare)

WW l from Encyclopedia Britannica
Details about World War I, also called First World War or Great War from Encyclopedia Britannica...
World War I from Wikipedia
Detailed analysis of WW l from Wikipedia...
WW l Timeline and Events from Duckstars
A well organized resources on World War l ...
Trench warfare from Wikipedia
Trench warfare is a type of land warfare using occupied fighting lines consisting largely of military trenches...
Trench warfare from Encyclopedia Britannica
Trench warfare- Definition, History, & Facts from Encyclopedia Britannica...
Trench Warfare from Duckstars
Written in a kids friendly way with Audio listening of the page...

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (2005)

About the book

From Wikipedia
Information about the plot, characters and themes of The Book Thief...
From Shmoop
Introduction and context of The Book Thief with video...

About the Author

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Brief information about Markus Zusak's Life, career, publication and awards...
Markus Zusak Biography from Chicago Public Library
A bit more details of Markus Zusak ...

The Geographical Location and Context of the Book (Nazi Germany, World War II, Holocaust, Genocide)

Nazi Germany from Wikipedia
Nazi Germany is the common English name for Germany between 1933 and 1945, when Adolf Hitler and his Nazi Party (NSDAP) controlled the country through a dictatorship...
Nazi Book burnings from Wikipedia
The books targeted for burning were those viewed as being subversive or as representing ideologies opposed to Nazism...
Nazi Book barning from Holocaust Encyclopedia
Reasons of book barning and targeted Authors and Works...
WWll from Holocaust Encyclopedia
Focused on WORLD WAR II IN EUROPE
WWll: Summary Outline of Key Events from BBC
Useful for key timeline and events of WWll...
World War ll from Britannica School
Read the Introduction and the outbreak of the war...
Introduction to the Holocaust from the Holocaust Encyclopedia
Read the Introduction and What Was the Holocaust sections?
The Holocaust from Wikipedia
The Holocaust, also referred to as the Shoah, was a genocide during World War II in which Nazi Germany, aided by its collaborators ...

Refugee by Alan Gratz (2017)

About the book

From Alan Gratz’s personal website
With the BOOK TRAILER...
From Goodreads
With the ratings and reviews...
Review by an Educator
REFUGEE BY ALAN GRATZ – REVIEW BY REBECCA KARLI with readers' comments

About the Author

Alan Gratz’s Bio from his personal website
Looking for a short bio to read before an Alan Gratz presentation? Use this!
From Wikipedia
Mostly about Alan Gratz's publications...

The context of the Book (WWII, Holocaust, Concentration camps, Genocide, Refugee, migration, Cuban Revolution, Germany, Nazism, Syrian Civil War, Arab Spring)

The Holocaust from Wikipedia
The Holocaust, also referred to as the Shoah, was a genocide during World War II in which Nazi Germany, aided by its collaborators ...
Introduction to the Holocaust from the Holocaust Encyclopedia
Read the Introduction and What Was the Holocaust sections?
World War ll from Britannica School
Read the Introduction and the outbreak of the war...
MS St. Louis from Wikipedia
MS St. Louis was a German ocean liner known for carrying more than 900 Jewish refugees from Germany in 1939...
St Louis: The ship of Jewish refugees nobody wanted from BBC
BBC report on St Louis survivors...
Hitler and World War II from Encyclopedia Britannica
Hitler and the WWll in details...
Cuban Revolution from Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica has an article on the Cuban Revolution...
Cuban Revolution from Wikipedia
Cuban Revolution in details...
Syrian Civil War from Wikipedia
Syrian Civil War in details ...
Syrian refugee from the beginning by Al Jazeera
Syrian Civil war, refugee crisis: All your questions answered with videos...
Arab Spring from Wikipedia
The reasons behind Arab Spring and its impact in Arab states...
Arab Spring from Encyclopedia Britannica
Arab Spring and the PRO-DEMOCRACY PROTESTS...

English

Teacher-Librarian

Gretha Wocke

Selected Books for World Literature Project

The Diary of a Young Girl/The Diary of Anne Frank by Anne Frank (1952.English)

Lord of the Flies by William Golding (1954)

Night by Eli Wiesel (1960)

Nervous conditions by Tsitsi Dangarembga (1988)

The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay (1989)

Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo (2003)

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (2005)

Refugee by Alan Gratz (2017)