Academic Honesty - Plagiarism, Citing Sources & Copyright - PYP Research - ICS Inter-Community School Library at ICS Inter-Community School Zurich

Plagiarism

Plagiarism is the act of taking another persons work (words or ideas) and presenting it as your own, without giving credit to that person. It is the theft of someone's intellectual property and can even apply to things like art and music.

Unintentional Plagiarism	Intentional Plagiarism
Poor paraphrasing Poor note taking skills that causes you to forget where you found information Not citing your source Quoting excessively Failure to use your own voice in writing	Copying a friend's work Cutting and pasting from an article on the internet Media "borrowing" without citing your sources

Tips to avoid plagiarism

When you are taking notes, hide the source first (close the book, taco your chromebook), then write your notes.
Write the source of information next to EVERY single note you take (website, book, interview). Keeping a track of your sources as you go along is far easier than trying to remember them all at the end.
If you are taking notes, put quotation marks around anything that you have copied exactly. Even if it's only a few words

BrainPop Plagiarism
"You know that stealing someone else’s property is wrong, but what about stealing words or ideas? In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby introduce you to the thorny concept of plagiarism.?"

BrainPop Copyright

Copyright
"Welcome to the exciting world of copyright! In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby will teach you the basics of U.S. copyright law."

Citing Sources

Grade 1: (Identify type of source) Book

Grade 2: (Identify type of source) Book and add title. Example: Stars Are Fun. Book.

Grade 3. (Identify type of source) Book and add title and author. Example: Stars Are Fun by H. Smith. Book.

Grade 4: (Identify type of source) Book and add title and author and copyright date. Example: Stars Are Fun by H. Smith. Book. 2013.

Grade 5: Students will use an online citation maker, putting in as much information as possible (Identify type of source) Book and add title and author and copyright date and publisher and city of publication.

Grade 1: (Identify type of source used) Website or Database

Grade 2: (Identify type of source) Website or Database and add title. Example: Nasa Kids. Website

Grade 3. (Identify type of source) Website or Database and add title and author or Sponsor. Example: Nasa Kids. Website. Nasa.

Grade 4: (Identify type of source) Website or Database and add title and author or Sponsor, date accessed and URL. Example: Nasa Kids. Website. Nasa. September 21, 2016. www.nasa.com

Grade 5: Students will use an online citation maker, putting in as much information as possible -Website or Database and add title and author or Sponsor, date accessed and URL. Example: Nasa Kids. Website. Nasa. September 21, 2016. www.nasa.com

(Both Britannica School and World Book offer full citations for each article)

Grade 1: (Identify type of source used) Online Encyclopedia

Grade 2: (Identify type of source) Online Encyclopedia and add title. Example: World Book Kids. Online Encyclopedia

Grade 3. (Identify type of source) Online Encyclopedia and add title of encyclopedia and title of article.. Example: World Book Kids. Jellyfish. Online Encyclopedia

Grade 4: (Identify type of source) Online Encyclopedia and add title of encyclopedia and title of article , author or sponsor, date accessed and URL. Example: World Book Kids. Jellyfish. Online Encyclopedia. September 21, 2016. www.worldbook.com.

Grade 5: Students will use an online citation maker, putting in as much information as possible -Online Encyclopedia and add title of encyclopedia and title of article , author or sponsor, date accessed and URL. Example: World Book Kids. Jellyfish. Online Encyclopedia. September 21, 2016. www.worldbook.com.

Grade 1: (Identify type of source used) Image

Grade 2: (Identify type of source) Image and add title of image. Example: Planets. Image

Grade 3. (Identify type of source) Image and add title of image and who created the image. Example: Planets. Image (photo). J. Smith

Grade 4: (Identify type of source) Image and add title of image, who created the image and image location. Example: Planets. Image (photo). J. Smith. Nasa Website

Grade 5: Students will use an online citation maker, putting in as much information as possible -Image and add title of image, who created the image and image location and url. Example: Planets. Image (photo). J. Smith. Nasa Website

Grade 1: (Identify type of source used) Personal Interview

Grade 2: (Identify type of source) Personal Interview and add name. Example: Personal Interview. L. Smith

Grade 3. (Identify type of source) Personal Interview and add name and date of interview. Example: Personal Interview. L. Smith. September 16, 2016

Grade 4: (Identify type of source) Personal Interview and add name and date of interview. Example: Personal Interview. L. Smith. September 16, 2016

Grade 5: Students will use an online citation maker, putting in as much information as possible -(Identify type of source) Personal Interview and add name and date of interview. Example: Personal Interview. L. Smith. September 16, 2016

How to ....

BrainPop Citing Sources
"Just when you think you're done with your report, it hits you like a ton of books—the bibliography! Figuring out how to list your sources may seem confusing, but it's an important step in the research paper process. It helps you avoid plagiarism by giving credit to the authors who helped shape your work."

Citation Maker

Citation Maker
To get started, click on the resource you want to cite from the Source Type column on the right

Citations for Beginners

Creating A Resource List on Webpath Express

Example of PYP Exhibition Citation List

Example PYP Exhibition Citation List
This is an example of how your citation list should look. It is REALLY IMPORTANT that you keep your list up to date while you are researching. DON'T leave your citation list blank while you are researching.

PYP Research: Academic Honesty - Plagiarism, Citing Sources & Copyright