ICS Inter-Community School Library: G3 HTWW: Grade 3 How The World Works

Lines of Inquiry

The Earth is composed of different materials. (ie rocks, soil, water, gas)
The Earth’s surface changes as a result of natural slow and rapid processes.
Earth’s changes impact human populations and the built environment.

ETH

This exhibition is a virtual collection of your favorite stones from anywhere in the world and your history that you associate with them.

Brain Pop

BrainPOP This link opens in a new window
BrainPOP is an educational website with over 1,000 short animated movies, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, mathematics, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.
Username: icsbrain
Password: icsbrain

Tumble Books

Earthquakes 101 (Video)
Inside Earth (Video)

Pebble Go

PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo is the award winning PreK-3 database for reading and research. Databases are simple to navigate and offer key reading supports such as read=along audio and word-by-word highlighting. Includes PebbleGo Animals, Science, Biographies, and Social Studies.
Username: zurichschool
Password: school

Brain Pop Jr

BrainPOP Jr.
Gently encourages young learners in grades K to 3 to ask questions and form their own ideas.
Username: icsbrain
Password: icsbrain

Britannica School

Britannica School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General information. Good for finding out about a topic when you begin research. Includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
User ID: icszlibrary
Password: icszlibrary

American Museum of Natural History: Earth Science For Kids

American Museum of Natural History: Earth Science For Kids
"Earth is the dynamic planet that we call home. It formed over 4.5 billion years ago, and it has been changing ever since. Sometimes these changes happen very fast, like an earthquake or a volcanic eruption. But most changes happen so slowly we don't notice them at all!"

What is a landslide?

Natural History Museum - Virtual Volcano and Earthquake Workshop

NHM volcano & earthquake virtual workshop
Explore the exciting world of volcanoes and earthquakes and their effects on society in this interactive streamed show.

In Volcano Town, a smoking volcano is causing concern for the local residents, but the team of scientists sent to investigate have gone missing! Your pupils must step up as earth scientists in order to save the day.

Your class will investigate geological forces from deep within the Earth using demonstrations that explore earthquakes and flowing lava. Developing their scientific thinking skills, will they be able to use their training to save Volcano Town from a deadly eruption?

Earthquake in the Classroom

Google Earth Timelapse

EPIC mudslide caught on camera

Erosion demonstration: Comparing grass, dead leaves, and soil

Erosion demonstration: Comparing grass, dead leaves, and soil
"How does water change the land? What’s the best way to maintain land over time? In this easy-to-replicate erosion demonstration from FunScienceDemos, elementary school teacher Jared Hottenstein demonstrates what happens when soil is paired with leaf debris or plants."

Wonderopolis

CBBC Newsround

Snowrollers and other amazing sights made by nature

World Book Encyclopedia

World Book Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General Information. Use this source to find out about your topic when you begin research. You can choose Kids, Student or Advanced levels for all topics.
User Name: wbicsz
Password: wbicsz

Google Sign-on does not work for WorldBook

Forces of Nature

Forces of Nature
Tornadoes, volcanoes, hurricanes and earthquakes are awesome forces of nature. Find out what causes them, where they occur and why—then read a survivor's story.

G3 HTWW: Grade 3 How The World Works

Central Idea

Processes that change Earth's surface can impact people and the environment.

Lines of Inquiry

ETH

Brain Pop

Tumble Books

Pebble Go

Brain Pop Jr

Britannica School

American Museum of Natural History: Earth Science For Kids

What is a landslide?

Natural History Museum - Virtual Volcano and Earthquake Workshop

Earthquake in the Classroom

Google Earth Timelapse

EPIC mudslide caught on camera

Erosion demonstration: Comparing grass, dead leaves, and soil

Wonderopolis

CBBC Newsround

World Book Encyclopedia

Forces of Nature

Reading List