Skip to Main Content

Grade 1: How The World Works

Central Idea

People apply their understanding of forces to invent and create machines.

Lines of Inquiry

Different types of forces cause movement.
Simple machines have different functions.
Designers can use scientific principles to ideate and create products that make the world a better place.

TKSST - Kinetic Videos

TKSST - Kinetic Videos

TKSST - SIMPLE MACHINES

TKSST - SIMPLE MACHINES
We found 63 videos with simple machines

BrainPop Simple Machines

BrainPOP This link opens in a new window
BrainPOP is an educational website with over 1,000 short animated movies, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, mathematics, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.
Username: icsbrain
Password: icsbrain

What Are The Six Simple Machines

Explain That Stuff
Tools made from metal, wood, and plastic work like extensions of your body, making you feel stronger and helping you work faster and more efficiently. In science, tools like this are called simple machines.

Simple Machines For Kids

Energy 101: Wind Turbines

An Energy 101 video from the US Department of Energy: the modern wind turbine and how it generates clean electricity using physics and technology.

Types of Simple Machines

Types of Simple Machines
One of the most important reasons that human being have become the most successful species on Earth is due to our mastery of tools and simple machines.

Brain Pop Jr - Energy

BrainPOP Jr.
Gently encourages young learners in grades K to 3 to ask questions and form their own ideas.
Username: icsbrain
Password: icsbrain

BPJ Energy

Pebble Go - Energy

PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo is the award winning PreK-3 database for reading and research. Databases are simple to navigate and offer key reading supports such as read=along audio and word-by-word highlighting. Includes PebbleGo Animals, Science, Biographies, and Social Studies.
Username: zurichschool
Password: school

Pebble Go - Energy

A giant forest xylophone plays Bach in this Japanese commercial

A giant forest xylophone plays Bach in this Japanese commercial
It’s a forest xylophone! This is a Japanese commercial that the kid asked to watch three times in a row. The music played on the custom-made wooden keys of this beautiful instrument: Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring, from Cantata 147 by Johann Sebastian Bach.

What is energy?

Mrs Armitage on Wheels

Mrs. Armitage on Wheels by Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Relates the misadventures of Miss Armitage as she makes increasingly complicated modifications of her bicycle.

O Grivo’s experimental musical machines: Bells Machine and Viola Delay

Rube Goldberg

Audri's Rube Goldberg Monster Trap
People are afraid of failure. The fear of being publicly embarassed can be daunting, preventing us from reaching our potential. Audri is a 7-year-old who has more resilience than most adults. And he puts his money where his mouth is. He wants to study robotics at MIT. So what does he do? Study? Nope. Enter a science fair? Nope. He creates a Rube Goldberg Machine to trap his toy monster.

Pebble Go - Science & Engineering Methods

PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo is the award winning PreK-3 database for reading and research. Databases are simple to navigate and offer key reading supports such as read=along audio and word-by-word highlighting. Includes PebbleGo Animals, Science, Biographies, and Social Studies.
Username: zurichschool
Password: school

Pebble Go - Science & Engineering Methods

Britannica School - Energy

Britannica School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General information. Good for finding out about a topic when you begin research. Includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
User ID: icszlibrary
Password: icszlibrary

Britannica School - Energy
Energy is another word for power. Energy makes things move. It makes machines work. Energy also makes living things grow.

A Giant Flipbook Machine

A Giant Flipbook Machine
A human-size, hand-cranked flipbook created with a community: This Mobile Studio Architects video showcases a Giant Flip Machine with a split-flap display,

Pebble Go Simple Machines

PebbleGo This link opens in a new window
PebbleGo is the award winning PreK-3 database for reading and research. Databases are simple to navigate and offer key reading supports such as read=along audio and word-by-word highlighting. Includes PebbleGo Animals, Science, Biographies, and Social Studies.
Username: zurichschool
Password: school

30 Simple Machine Projects

30 Simple Machine Projects
We will show you how to make a simple machine as you learn about the 6 simple machines: inclined planes, wheel & axel, wedges, levers, pulley, and screws.

Big Questions

How do things move?

How are forces used in simple machines?

How do simple machines make our lives more enjoyable or easier?

What are simple machines?

What are forces and how do they work?

How can we solve problems using our understanding of how forces work?

How do objects attract or repel from each other?

How can you use observations to predict patterns of motion? (friction, push/pull)

How do forces, tools, and machines impact our world?

What is the design cycle?

The Soccket, an energy-generating soccer ball that turns into a lamp

The Soccket, an energy-generating soccer ball that turns into a lamp
What if you could charge a battery by playing soccer with friends?

Books in the Library