ICS Inter-Community School Library: G4 WWAPT: Ancient China

Britannica School - Shang Dynasty

Britannica School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
General information. Good for finding out about a topic when you begin research. Includes up-to-date information sources and allows you to move easily to material of higher or lower reading levels as needed.
User ID: icszlibrary
Password: icszlibrary

Shang Dynasty
"The Shang dynasty was the first recorded Chinese dynasty for which there is both written and archaeological evidence. Believed to have ruled from 1766 to 1122 bce, the Shang created one of the earliest advanced civilisations in East Asia."
Great Wall of China
"The Great Wall of China is one of the biggest structures ever made by humans. The ancient Chinese built the wall to protect against invading armies. Today it attracts tourists from all over the world and stands as a symbol of China."

Brain Pop - Great Wall

BrainPOP This link opens in a new window
BrainPOP is an educational website with over 1,000 short animated movies, together with quizzes and related materials, covering the subjects of science, social studies, English, mathematics, engineering and technology, health, and arts and music.
Username: icsbrain
Password: icsbrain

Brain Pop - Great Wall
Do good fences make good neighbors? In this BrainPOP movie, Tim and Moby investigate the biggest fence of 'em all: the Great Wall of China! You'll learn all about this gigantic defensive barrier--who built it, when it was built, and who it was defending against. Why are some parts of it better built than others? Why did construction on the wall stop in the 17th century? How high? How long? How wide? Find out the answers to these questions and more! Along the way, you'll learn about Chinese history, and how the Great Wall figures in it.

BBC Sounds Homeschool History - Podcast

BBC Sounds Homeschool History - Podcast

Chinese Dynasties

Annotated Chronological Outline of Chinese History
Timeline of Chinese History and Dynasties
Columbia University
List of Rulers of China
The Met. Heinlbrunn Timeline of Art History
Ancient Dynasties
U of Maryland
Xia Dynasty - 2070-1600 BCE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Shang Dynasty - 1600-1046 BCE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Shang Dynasty 商 (17th-11th cent. BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Zhou Dynasty 周 (11th cent.-221 BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Zhou Dynasty - 1046-256 BCE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Zhou Dynasty, Confucius, and China’s Philosophic Traditions
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Qin Dynasty 秦 (221-206 BCE)
ChinaKnowledge.de
Qin Dynasty - 221-206 BCE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Qin and the Han
Columbia U. The Early Chinese Empire
The Imperial Eras
U of Maryland
Han Dynasty - 206 BCE-220 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Timeline of China's "Period of Disunity," 220-589 CE
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Sui Dynasty - 581-618 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Tang Dynasty - 618-907 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Tang Empire (618-907)
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Song Dynasty - 960 to 1279 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Yuan Dynasty - 1271 to 1368 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Mongol Empire
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Genghis Khan
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Kublai Khan
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Ming Dynasty - 1368 to 1644 CE
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Ming (1368-1644) and the Qing (1644-1912)
Columbia U

Ancient China History

"Ancient China was one of the oldest and longest lasting civilizations in the history of the world. The history of Ancient China can be traced back over 4,000 years. Located on the eastern part of the continent of Asia, today China is the most populous country in the world. More videos you can be found in the youtube links and play list."

Ducksters - Ancient China

Ducksters - Ancient China
Includes
- Overview
- Culture
- People
- Dynasties
- Government
- Art
- Religion

DK Find Out - Ancient China

DK Find Out - Ancient China
Includes information on trade, clothing, transport, inventions, medicine, family life, farming and writing.

Interesting Facts about Daily Life in Ancient China for kids

4 Great Inventions of Ancient China

Yellow River/Shang Dynasty Civilization

Shang Dynasty Civilization from Ducksters [RL 2]
History, how do we know about the Shang? and Interesting Facts about the Shang Dynasty...
Shang Dynasty from Britannica School [RL 2]
The Shang Dynasty was the first recorded Chinese dynasty for which there is both written and archaeological evidence. Read or Listen to the History, Society, and Culture of Shang Dynasty...
Shang Dynasty facts for kids [RL 2]
The Shang Dynasty facts for kids brought to you by Kids Encyclopedia Facts...
Shang Dynasty Civilization from the Schoolrun.Com [RL 2]
Top 10 facts about Shang Dynasty and the time of the Civilization...
BBC resource pack on Shang Dynasty [RL 2-3]
[text contents only] This resource pack covers, What was it like to live in the Shang Dynasty? How did the Shang army win battles? What jobs did the Shang people do?

Online Resources

Accomplishments of the Ancient Chinese
ThoughtCo
Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Ancient China
British Museum
Ancient Chinese Architecture
Ancient History Encyclopedia
China’s “Golden Age”: The Song, the Mongols, and the Ming Voyages
Asia for Educators. Columbia U
Chinese Literature
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Daily Life in Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
The Emergence of Modern China
U of Maryland. Through the Opium War (1842)
Foot-Binding
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Great Wall of China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
History Timeline
U of Maryland. Click the links for more information.
In Pictures: China's New Terracotta Warriors
BBC
Key Points in the Development of East Asia
Columbia University
Overview of the History and Civilization of Ancient China
TimeMaps
Primary Source Documents
Asia for Educators
Emperor Qin's Tomb
National Geographic
Warfare in Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Warring States Period
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Women in Ancient China
Ancient History Encyclopedia

G4 WWAPT: Ancient China